As part of a divorce settlement, a former spouse may be entitled to alimony under Florida law. To award alimony, the court must consider the following:

  • How long the marriage lasted
  • What standard of living both parties were accustomed to during the marriage
  • The ages, physical and mental health of both parties
  • The monetary resources available to each party
  • Whether or not either party’s education or career were affected

Types Of Alimony Awarded In The State Of Florida

There are also different types of alimony that can be awarded, based on your individual circumstances and the circumstances of your spouse. If you or your spouse are awarded alimony, the court will determine which type of alimony is best suited to the needs of the recipient and the ability of their spouse to pay.

Temporary Alimony

Since divorce proceedings can take a substantial amount of time to be finalized, this type of alimony can be awarded while the divorce is pending.

Lump Sum Alimony

Also known as “alimony in gross,” this type of alimony is paid in a single payment and is the only kind of spousal support that cannot be modified by petitioning the divorce court.

Rehabilitative Alimony

Rehabilitative alimony is awarded for a specified period of time to assist the recipient in becoming a self supporting member of society after the dissolution of marriage.

Permanent Alimony 

Permanent alimony is awarded and paid up until the recipient marries another person or either party becomes deceased.

Bridge-The-Gap Alimony

This type of alimony is awarded for a short period of time that will not exceed two years. This will allow the financially displaced spouse the resources necessary to become a self supporting single person again.

If you are in the midst of a divorce, you need a high powered, experienced family law attorney who can fight for your rights and help you transition into life on your own as easily as possible. Call today for an appointment.